Life Members

At the 2021 Annual General Meeting held on Sunday 28 November 2021, three worthy members were made Honorary Life Members. Congratulations! 

  • Tony Lyndon (Hawkes Bay) - see below
  • Neil Miller (Auckland) 
  • Neil Oldfield (Wanganui)


Tony has been involved with the Hawkes Bay branch since 1962, joining the committee soon after. He held the role of President for several decades (1989-2020) and was the Hawkes Bay Delegate to NZTROF until 2020. He continues to contribute to the Bulletin with news from the Hawkes Bay Region. 

Originally from Hastings, he did a stint as an apprentice jockey in Auckland, becoming foreman when he got too heavy. He then moved back to Hastings to take a job as foreman for another stable, riding work for local trainers. He then became a trainer in his own right and got involved in breeding. Once married, he worked selling office equipment, alongside managing his horses and a snooker room he had purchased (with punting profits!) Next up was a spell as a stud manager in Matamata, assisted by his wife. They had three young kids by this stage; it was hard work managing everything.  

The family returned to Hastings and managed the Windsor Park Motor Camp for nearly three decades before retiring.

Tony is active in his community, having been involved previously in Kiwanis and currently in Rebus (an offshoot of Probus).

Racing is Tony’s passion and he is a member of the Hawkes Bay Jockey Club. He also served on the Hawkes Bay District Committee, who were tasked with approving or declining Trainers Licences which was subsequently done by NZTR when it took over from NZ Racing Conference.

In addition to horses Tony has trained, bred and owned in the past, including Just Tommy (a horse described as “dangerous”, he won his first race), Tony has more recently enjoyed success racing Carnaby, and has a new gelding, a half to Addictive Habit, who will hopefully be racing soon.

Tony’s grandfather was a jockey, winning his first race as a 12-year-old at Hastings. His daughter Maree is part of racing history, being a highly successful jockey and the first woman to ride in a Melbourne Cup (1987).

At the Racing Owner/Breeder Awards in 2014 Tony was awarded the Horlicks Salver for outstanding contribution to racing in Hawkes Bay; a fine achievement.

We congratulate Tony on becoming an Honorary Life Member of NZTROF at the 2021 AGM. 

Info to come