Welcome to …

Wanganui-Taranaki Thoroughbred Racehorse Owners’ Association

The Wanganui-Taranaki region of the Racehorse Owners came into being in about 2010, following a decision by the Taranaki committee who decided that there was no reason to continue functioning. A tour of racing events in the South Island by members utilised the Taranaki Branch’s funds and then responsibility for the region was taken over by the Wanganui branch.

The Wanganui branch had always controlled Barrier Trials in the Wanganui-Rangitikei region for many years at Bulls and Wanganui racecourses. These trials no longer occur.

Those at present on our committee who are involved with the Wanganui Jockey Club include: Bret Field, our Secretary-Treasurer, who manages Wanganui Racing; Janice Webster, an Office administrator on race days; Banjo Hackett, raceday farrier and, until the last year, course manager, the late Mark Buckley.

The Branch has sponsored races during the past season at Wanganui and New Plymouth and the intention is to sponsor races at Hawera and Waverley in the present season.

We look forward to welcoming new members to our region!

Brian O’Dea, President


President & NZTROF Delegate: Brian O’Dea (since 2017)

NZTROF Reserve Delegate: Ian Hackett

Secretary/Treasurer: Bret Field

Committee Members:

  • Neil Oldfield (NZTROF Sub-delegate)
  • Paul Bardell (Past President)
  • Mark Buckley
  • Ian Hackett
  • Janice Webster
  • Judy Duncan
  • Paul Smith
  • Alan Hawken

Contact: Bret Field (Secretary)

Ph: 06 345 3968 or 0274 236 735


  • Charles Simpson
  • Peter O’Shanassy 1980
  • Paul Bardell